top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanyale Daniels

Writing Practice



In the previous post I briefly mentioned being taught a writing exercise. I don't know the official name of it, but I found it to be extremely helpful. The exercise is five minutes long and you can do it anywhere. All that you need to start is to find three things around you; a color, a name, and an action. Set a timer for five minutes and write using the three things that you chose and when the timer goes off stop. While you're writing there should be no erasing and no stopping to think, just do.


You'd be amazed by the things that the imagination comes up with when given the opportunity to just go. I was amazed myself when I saw how specific and in-depth I had the ability to go in just a few minutes. Try it. Even if you're not a writer, I find that it can help by being a good distraction.


Here's something I managed to write and create while doing this exercise.


Angel ran, racing on her way with her blue bag tossed over her shoulders. Every other step she took, the blue bag appeared to feel heavier. All she could think about was the relief that would come with finally being able to drop this bag off. Though she had no time to figure out where exactly she was headed — she knew that when she arrived she'd just know. At this moment her desire of wanting the feeling of knowing greatly distracted her from the pressure upon her shoulders as she carried the blue bag. Running and racing and hoping and praying along her way, she continued. Because this weight had to go.

17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page