top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanyale Daniels

From Fearful to Fearless — A Review of CultureCon NYC



Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending my first CultureCon in New York City and the experience was unlike anything I’ve ever been a part of. And though it’s been a week since, I cannot help but to remain in awe of everything. The people, the venue, the food, the support, and the vibes were unmatched.


The creative homecoming was held at the Duggal Greenhouse in the Brooklyn Navy Yard and from the time I walked in, I was immersed into the essence of what coming home after being away for too long feels like. I was warmly welcomed by staff working the event and the sounds of Black joy taking place in real time. The atmosphere was a drastic opposite of the daily complexities Black creatives frequently endure.


To be a creative is to see the unseen and to desire to create the unthought of. But, to be a Black creative is that, in addition to having the burden of being regularly misunderstood, undervalued, undersupported, and unheard. Often encouraged to be and do what’s practical, because "dreams don’t pay the bills” it’s tough to keep hope alive while constantly being urged against it. As beautiful and fulfilling as it is to be an artist/creative, we don’t occupy a world that holds much space and acceptance for all of us.




To be able to experience something such as CultureCon that was made for us, by us and be seen is a privilege many don’t get to experience often, if ever. Especially when you don’t have the resources, community, or opportunities that reflect or support all that you hope to be. CultureCon was the place of intersectionality for the creative to receive that and more. From what I saw and experienced it was thoughtfully designed with the forgotten in mind. A place where the forgotten were remembered, valued, and celebrated.


There was so much I appreciated about the event, but more than anything the sense of belonging is what has remained. It was reassuring to be amongst the community while being celebrated for existing as exactly who we are. To say that I’ll attend next year is an understatement. Not going would be doing myself a disservice. CultureCon fed me in a variety of ways, but most importantly I left renewed and more inspired than I’ve felt in a very long time.


This experience has enabled me to feel more like myself than I have in years — with clarity and hope in tow. So for me, CultureCon is vital.

62 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page