top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanyale Daniels

Reads I've Loved This Year



Good writers read often if not every day. We read for all kinds of things at any given time. Personally, I read for pleasure, inspiration, knowledge, perspective, and wisdom. One of the things I enjoy most about reading is the glance into another writer's mind. It's a deep appreciation. Usually, my favorite genre is urban literature but this year I found myself branching out into books that aren't usually on my radar. Since graduating college in May, I've gotten so much time back that my love for books has re-emerged. Second to reading, I love to put people on to good reads and sharing the experience. Here's a list of books I've read and loved this year. Pick one up and enjoy.


  1. The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae

  2. More Than Enough by Elaine Welteroth

  3. Rabbit by Patricia 'Ms. Pat' Williams

  4. Flyy Girl by Omar Tyree (I re-read this novel at least once a year — it's a comfort read)

  5. Sula by Toni Morrison

  6. Black Girl Call Home by Jasmine Manns

  7. Ladies Night by Christian Keyes (current read)

  8. Seven Days In June by Tia Williams (current read)

10 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page