top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanyale Daniels

For Seeking and Finding My Voice Again



I don't know when my head became so clouded with what everyone else was doing that I lost the ability to hear — me. A voice that I once took for granted, I desperately want back. The more I stayed away from the pen, the less I saw myself in the words. The more I avoided sitting down and creating, the easier it became to decide that it just simply wasn't my calling.


Then a Saturday came. My fiancee and I were on the road when clarity found me in the passing trees and open road. What became clear was what I needed to do in order to hone in my voice again. To get back to some kind of normalcy in my writing, without all the judgement inconsistency has taught me to do.


I had to get back to the basics and start from the very beginning. Right here, where my voice began and my passion was raised. I was 16 when I first found refuge in writing and creating. At 22, I'm finding my way back by exploring my roots to figure out how to bare fruit again.


It is my intention in the next 31 days to write and post something every single day. Short, long, sucky, or genius I just want to grow. Because now that I've found my way home, I have to settle into being comfortable again. To believe in myself again. To rediscover that 16 year old mindset and optimism who knew that no matter what the future held, writing would be her way through and out. Before fast success was a trend and being herself felt weird.


This is for me. For my voice. For the creator in me. For my confidence. For my destiny. For my survival of redefining Danyale.

24 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page