top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanyale Daniels

Book Review — The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Summary


Graphic Source: https://theblondmane.fr/


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a historical fiction novel filled with secrets, revelations, and deep explorations into the complexity of sexuality and personality faults and defaults. Evelyn Hugo is an American film icon whose relevance has sustained over more than five decades. The world both loves and hates Evelyn, but who wouldn't? She represents the kind of resilience, confidence, sexuality and talent that no woman could measure up to. Now that she’s outlived each of her loved ones, she’s ready to tell her life story. The good, the bad, and the scandalous. But, the person the 1960’s scarlet chooses to write her story is Monique, a no-name journalist that seemingly has no connection to Hugo. Why Monique? The answer may very well break everyone.



Upon finishing the riveting novel that is The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, I only know one thing for sure. What I know is that I no longer have any desire to be regarded as nice or kind. And that isn’t to say that such characteristics are unworthy or even wrong. I simply now have a new understanding about life that I think I’ve always known, but have been frightened of. My consumption with the need of people perceiving me a certain way has limited me. It limits all of us. Frankly speaking, I have spent the greater portion of my life trying to control the narrative that surrounds me to ensure people saw me as approachable, kind, and most importantly likable. Even when I didn’t like the me I had to be. In a matter of 385 pages, I feel like the answers we don’t consciously look for, but intuitively desire were found for me in every line.


Taylor Jenkins Reid in short, wrote the f—ck out of this novel. But in prolonged thoughts and greater details she inspires through her writing and causes the type of critical thinking that’s alarming at times. Not in a horror kind of way, but in a way where complexity is not as intimidating as it’s made out to be. Through Reid’s writing she shows you that two things can be both true and false at the same time and without a need for explanation. But you also walk away with the “wow” factor you didn’t realize you needed in your life. It sneaks up on you in the best and worst way — showing you through each word furthermore that two things can be true simultaneously. The biggest takeaway,


“If you possessed no fear or remorse, where could your potential take you?”


My most honest and critical assessment of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is that it’s worth the experience. It will consume you in a way that causes you to not want to put it down. You may even finish it in one sitting (I would’ve, but IRL I don’t have that luxury). However, there are two things I can guarantee to anyone interested in reading. For one, you will feel every emotion toward Evelyn Hugo, but will struggle to find words that fit. Also, you will have the constant urge to do a Google search on the characters, because that’s just how real they feel (guilty). Whether this is right up your alley or out of your comfort zone the leap into this story is one you’ll be satisfied to have indulged in.


My overall rating is a 10/10.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page